Beta We're making some changes to Find out what's new, give feedback or read FAQs here
RIBA President's Awards For Research

​​RIBA President's Awards For Research

Submissions for the 2017 President’s Awards for Research are now closed and the Shortlist will be announced in September.

The annual President’s Awards for Research welcomes submissions from across the fields of architecture and the built environment under the following categories:

  • Design + Technical
  • Cities + Community
  • History + Theory
  • Annual Theme 2018 to be announced in December 2017

Submissions are made via an online form and require a 300 word Abstract, 1000 word Research Statement and a main body of work between 5000 - 10,000 words.

The Judging panel consists of 7 experts chosen for their specialist knowledge to cover the four categories and for their breadth of experience across the discipline of architecture; for more information on this year's judges please read following document:

Judging Panel 2017

Submission Guidelines 2017

If you have any queries about the awards, please email or call +44(0)20 7307 3714.

Winner of the 2016 President's Medal for Research and 'History and Theory' category: Asmara – Africa’s Modernist City: UNESCO World Heritage Nomination. Edward Denison (pictured centre), Medhanie Teklemariam and Dawit Abraha, Asmara Heritage Project, Eritrea

The annual awards celebrate the best research in the fields of architecture and the built environment. In 2016 a record-breaking 75 submissions were received from 14 countries with a significant number of practice-based entries. The winners of the President's Awards for Research 2016 were announced at the President’s Medals ceremony on 7 December, 2016.

The work submitted provides a glimpse of the global workings and interactions of architects, students and academics and includes field work and case studies from Lagos, Asmara, Melbourne, London, Hong Kong, Taipei, Gaza, Margate, Gujarat, Birmingham, Lillehammer, Sofia, Jakarta, Oxford, Athens, Delhi, Chicago, Harlow, Yeruham and Brussels.

The breadth of topics are just as diverse and you can read about all of them in the Book of Abstracts.

President's Awards for Research 2016 publications:

Winner of the 2016 President’s Medal for Research and winner of the category ‘History and Theory’
Shortlisted for 'History and Theory'
Winner of the Annual Theme – ‘Learning from Projects’ and highly commended
Shortlisted for the Annual Theme
Winner of the category ‘Cities and Community’
Shortlisted for 'Cities and Community'
Winner of the category ‘Design and Technical’
Shortlisted for 'Design and Technical'

Winner of the Design & Technical category: Supertall Timber: Design Research for the next generation of natural structure. Dr Michael Ramage and Dr Rob Foster, University of Cambridge, UK Simon Smith, Smith and Wallwork, UK. Kevin Flanagan and Ron Bakker, PLP / Architecture, UK. © PLP Architecture
keyboard_arrow_up To top