Use of cookies We use cookies to improve your experience. By using you agree to our terms of use and use of cookies
RIBA Board and committees

​RIBA Board and committees

RIBA Board

The RIBA Board oversees the operations of the RIBA and its commercial arm, RIBA Enterprises (minority shareholder), as well as the RIBA's main committees with the exception of the Audit Committee, Nominations Committee and Membership Admissions Committee which report to Council.

RIBA Board members

  • Ben Derbyshire (Chair)
  • John Assael
  • Tim Bailey
  • Caroline Buckingham
  • Jane Duncan
  • Alan Jones
  • Ruth Mcintosh
  • Virginia Newman
  • Valeria Passetti
  • Kerr Robertson
  • Elena Tsolakis
  • Pierre Wassenaar
  • Chris Williamson


Seven main committees and a number of sub-committees develop and advise on policies and activities of the institute. All main committees report to the RIBA Board, with the exception of the Audit Committee, Nominations Committee and Membership Admissions Committee which report to Council.

The committees advise on the formulation of policy and strategy relevant for their areas, recommending priorities for the business plan and budget (both income and expenditure).

They also review the implementation of Council policies and the progress of work against agreed objectives. They appoint task groups and specialist advisers for relevant projects and subjects.

Audit and Oversight Committee

  • Mark Jermy (Chair)
  • Ruth McIntosh
  • Pierre Wassenaar
  • George Oldham

British Architectural Trust Board

  • Ben Derbyshire - President, ex-officio
  • Jonathan Ball
  • Kerr Robertson
  • Elena Tsolakis
  • Shankari Edgar
  • Jonathan Falkingham
  • Timothy Hornsby
  • Richard Klein
  • Suzi Winstanley
  • Gillian Wolfe

Education Committee

  • Alan Jones VP Education (Chair)
  • David Howarth
  • Paul Jones
  • Bob Brown
  • Kevin Singh
  • Selasi Setufe
  • Simeon Shtebunaev
  • Bernadette Donohoe
  • Christina Godiksen
  • Yemi Aladerun
  • Indy Johar
  • Patrick Lynch

Finance and Operations Committee

  • John Assael (Chair, Honorary Treasurer)
  • Richard Whitbread
  • Mark Percival
  • Simone de Gale
  • Chris Hampson
  • Mark Kemp
  • Stewart Henderson

International Committee

  • Chris Williamson, VP International (Chair)
  • Alice Asafu-Adjaye, International Council member – Middle East and Africa Region
  • Ulrike Bega
  • Adam Blacker
  • Catherine Davis, International Council member – Americas Region
  • Sean Hatcher
  • Martin Knight
  • Diba Salam
  • Elsie Owusu
  • Roger Wu, International Council member – Asia and Australasia Region

Corresponding members

  • Phil Allsopp, chair RIBA-USA Chapter
  • Sumaya Dabbagh, chair RIBA Gulf Chapter
  • Goh Chong Chia, chair RIBA Singapore Chapter
  • John Geeson, CAA Honorary Secretary/ Treasurer
  • Peter Oborn, UIA Council Member
  • Roger Wu, chair RIBA Hong-Kong Chapter
  • Nela de Zoysa, chair RIBA Sri Lanka Chapter

Membership Committee

  • Valeria Passetti, VP Membership/Nations & Regions (Chair ex-officio)
  • Gerard Bareham
  • Alia Beyg
  • Paul Crowe
  • Mark Jermy
  • Ewen Miller
  • Virginia Newman
  • Helen Taylor
  • Selasi Setufe

Nations and Regions Committee

  • Valeria Passetti (VP Membership/Nations and Regions)
  • Laith Anayi (RIBA South East)
  • Tim Bailey (RIBA North East)
  • Aaron Chetwynd (RIBA West Midlands)
  • Sam Culling (RIBA East Midlands)
  • Tom Foggin (RIBA East)
  • Mark Hodson (RIBA Yorkshire)
  • Carolyn Merrifield (RSAW President)
  • Ewen Miller (RIBA North West)
  • Rebecca Ridge (RIBA Wessex)
  • Mark Shipton (RIBA South)
  • Carl Turner (RIBA London)
  • Oswald Chung (RIBA South West)

Practice and Profession Committee

The Practice and Profession Committee provides leadership and support for members and practices on professional issues by overseeing the completion of the RIBA’s strategic objectives in relation to the practice of architecture. It comprises, mostly, of chairs of RIBA Expert Advisory Groups.

Members of the RIBA Expert Advisory Groups use their expertise to inform RIBA responses to consultations, proactive campaigns as well as products and guidance to support the profession.

  • Caroline Buckingham VPPC, Chair of Practice and Profession Committee, Council
  • Dieter Bentley-Gockmann, Chair of Regulations and Standards Group, Council
  • Gary Clark, Chair of Sustainable Futures Group
  • John Cole, Procurement Champion
  • Lanre Gbolade, Council Member
  • John Hickey, Chair of CPD Group
  • Peter Jackson, Chair of Large Practice Group
  • Barbara Kaucky, Chair of Small Practice Group
  • Julia McLoughlin, Professional Conduct Liaison
  • Richard Murphy, RIBA Council
  • Nigel Ostime, Chair of Client Liaison Group
  • Elsie Osuwu
  • Julia Park, Chair of Housing Group
  • Fiona Raley, Chair of Conservation Group
  • Flora Samuel, Vice President Research
  • Dale Sinclair, Champion for Collaboration and Technical
  • Philip Waddy, Chair of Planning Group

RIBA Enterprise Board

  • Paul Foster (Chair)
  • Tim Bailey
  • Clem Brohier
  • Ben Derbyshire
  • Paul Foster
  • Mark Kemp
  • Peter Oborn
  • Irena Peel
  • Mark Richardson
  • Alan Vallance
  • Richard Waterhouse
  • Helen Whitfield
  • Paula Willmore
  • Philip Youell

keyboard_arrow_up To top